Be Social Or Be Deleted By Google

Google Profile Ghost Photo

Google+ has added a new layer to the Google profile for users who are currently able to access the latest social step. There is also the circles feature that lets you add people to be specific with your sharing. That’s a plus for Google. So, to take a step back, in my opinion, Google has decided that if your profile is not public it will be deleted after July 31st 2011. The only thing you need to share on a public profile, according to Google is your name and gender. Right. Gender.

Its no surprise as Facebook has taken some rather rash actions on what should be private vs share with the world, why not Google? There are more options with Google to manage privacy so there should be no reason to have or keep a profile and simply make the right choices at the time you decide to share links, photos or posts. However, the idea that its be social or be deleted is unfair to force people to be public with their information, even if its just Name and gender. At least in Facebook profiles you can totally be anonymous when someone searches for you (at least the last time I checked; my own profile is NOT fully open to those finding me through search).

From the Google+ Project:

The purpose of Google Profiles is to enable you to manage your online identity. Today, nearly all Google Profiles are public. We believe that using Google Profiles to help people find and connect with you online is how the product is best used. Private profiles don’t allow this, so we have decided to require all profiles to be public.

Google To Delete NonPublic Profiles 1AUG11

 

At the very least if you are a Google user, set that profile with a photo, your name, gender and a link to your website/blog or about.me page.  Is this a game changer for your Google use?

 

 

Advertisements

What are your thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s