Social Media Photography: The Guardians

A recent visit to Washington DC gave me the opportunity to take some mobile photos around Union Station. The experience was more exciting this time since recently upgrading from a Blackberry to an Android phone. Everything fun in the app world these days seems to be focused on the iPhone. I’m finding my mobile technology life as a photographer to be more meaningful when my phone is smart enough to take photos and give me a chance to edit on the go. I always see with the lens in my eye even when the DSLR is tucked away safe at home.

Social media allows a plethora of opportunities to share daily thoughts and experiences. Add photography to that realm and you you get a full social media photography experience for personal or business branding! I could be considered an oversharer but I like to think of it as a walking digital notebook. From the daily errands or travel away from home to the networking events and photography jobs: social media is my outlet, a channel to share the good, the bad and the reality of the world around me.

Its all relevant. You are your own guardian of your personal or professional brand. How do you use your social media channels to document your day? Mobile photos? Mobile video? Mobile blogging? Location checkins?

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Social Media Photography: The Guardians

  1. I find myself more likely tot take pics on my smart phone nowadays, instead of my camera. Nothing like the instant gratification of the automatic upload!

  2. @WriteOnOnline One of the reasons I love the smart phone with a decent camera! I do more with it on a daily basis than dragging around my Canon 7D when I’m not working.

  3. You wrote: “Social media allows a plethora of opportunities to share daily thoughts and experiences. Add photography to that realm and you you get a full social media photography experience for personal or business branding! I could be considered an oversharer but I like to think of it as a walking digital notebook. From the daily errands or travel away from home to the networking events and photography jobs: social media is my outlet, a channel to share the good, the bad and the reality of the world around me.”

    I feel this post gave a wonderful sense of what you do, @Nakeva !

    I really appreciated the

    I believe that your brand is about “bringing the shimmer of the social photographic arts” to destinations and events. It seems that in posts like this you are actually defining the “digital social photographic arts” as a practice…maybe you could box it in as a discipline?

    What do you think?

    Do you think that has any relationship to defining your brand and who it serves?

    Best always,

    Yvette ydubel

  4. You wrote: “Social media allows a plethora of opportunities to share daily thoughts and experiences. Add photography to that realm and you you get a full social media photography experience for personal or business branding! I could be considered an oversharer but I like to think of it as a walking digital notebook. From the daily errands or travel away from home to the networking events and photography jobs: social media is my outlet, a channel to share the good, the bad and the reality of the world around me.”

    I feel this post gave a wonderful sense of what you do, Nakeva. !

    I really appreciated the mood of the images and your eye for framing your shots.

    My feeling is that your brand is about “bringing the shimmer of the social photographic arts” to destinations and events. It seems that in posts like this you are actually defining the “digital social photographic arts” as a practice…maybe you could box it in as a discipline? Is that a prerequisite to being legitimized as an industry segment? Does that matter?

    What do you think?

    Do you think that has any relationship to defining your brand and who it serves?

    Best always,

    Yvette

  5. Wow, great photos! I almost exclusively take photos with my phone now rather than a camera. It’s so much easier having one decide that does everything.

  6. @ydubel I like the way you phrased the idea of the social media photography art! This is exactly what I am doing and where I’m taking my photography brand. Merging social media with photography opens opportunities for brands, small businesses, marketing and public relations. My recent experiments using mobile photography and the professional gear shows me its a definite niche and there is a need from those that want information and visual confirmation in the moment.

    Being legitimized as an industry segment isn’t my immediate concern. There are only a handful of photographers doing something even remotely similar to what I have planned. If you look at the culture behind iPhonography you will see its become an acceptable and even expected segment in photography. However, no one is specifically focused on this as an art remixed with social media. I have to have both!

    Thanks for the brilliant questions!

    • @Nakeva Good answer! I can see why you’d want to combine them – it definitely brings in new dimensions.

      Do you think the market has to be educated about this hybrid or fusion service?

  7. @socialhospitalitysocialhospitality Its been increasingly easier to snap shots on the go since my mobile phone is with me all the time. Rather than wish I had my camera, I snap what I see with the same creative perspective. Its even more fun when you can use apps on the phone to edit and transform a photo, even when there is bad lighting! Keep snapping shots and let me know where I can see your work.

What are your thoughts?

